Friday, September 23, 2011

Tuvalu Recognizes Abkhazia

Tuvalu, a Central Pacific insular state, has recognized the independence of Abkhazia, announced the Abkhaz Froeign Minister Maxim Gvindzhiya. Abkhazia is a breakaway Georgian province first recognized by Russia in the wake of the 2008 Russian-Georgian war over South Ossetia, another breakaway Georgian province. Abkhazia has been recognized only by Russia, Nicaragua, Venezuela, Nauru and Vanuatu, but Vanuatu later withdrew its recognition.

UPDATE: Tuvalu Recognizes South Ossetia, Too

No comments:

Post a Comment