Monday, April 15, 2013

US Publishes Magnitsky List

The United States has published a list of 18 officials (mainly Russian) banned from entering the country because of alleged human rights abuses. The list includes tax officials and police officers who jailed Magnitsky after he accused them of corruption. But senior officials from President Vladimir Putin's entourage who had been expected to be included were left off, including Russia's top police official Alexander Bastrykin. Russia responded by publishing a list of 18 US officials barred from visiting Russia. Russia's list, announced by the foreign ministry, includes two former Bush administration officials who are said to have advocated harsh interrogation techniques and two former commanders of the detention centre at Guantanamo Bay.

No comments:

Post a Comment